Latest News
Nottingham is the City Hero at EST Fleet Heroes Awards

Nottingham is the City Hero at EST Fleet Heroes Awards

Nottingham City Council has won the ‘City or Town Hero’ Award at the Energy Saving Trust Fleet Heroes Awards, which took place in London on 27 November 2018.

Mark Daly and James Ashton from Nottingham City Council received the award from motoring broadcaster Amanda Stretton, who hosted the event.

Nottingham City Council is tackling air pollution through an ambitious strategy, and is already seeing levels of nitrogen dioxide fall. Measures include: reinvesting revenue from the UK’s first Workplace Parking Levy into trams and buses; opening two cross-city cycle corridors; expanding EV charging infrastructure; a bus lane accessible to ULEVs; changing taxi licensing requirements; and engaging with businesses and taxi drivers, including a ‘try before you buy’ scheme.

The Workplace Travel Service: ULEV Experience is one of the Council’s initiatives – a programme dedicated to supporting businesses in Nottingham to understand, trial and implement low emission vehicle technology, funded by Nottingham City Council’s Go Ultra Low City project. It offers fully funded fleet reviews which can independently assess the case for low emission vehicles specifically within a fleet, identifying areas to reduce both costs and emissions. It also offers low emission vehicle loans for up to one month, and events, including Ride & Drives and ULEV Clinics.

The Energy Saving Trust Fleet Heroes Awards also included a conference about the latest developments in the area of ultra-low emission vehicles and fleets. The first speakers was Dr Bob Moran, Department for Transport, who talked about ‘Fleets on the Road to Zero’. Bob highlighted that we need to tackle climate change quicker than we thought, and that 90% of world’s children breathe toxic air every day, so we need to get more people into cleaner vehicles, and the next CO2 targets for car manufacturers need to be ambitious.

Other speakers included Matthew Eastwood, Energy Saving Trust; Mark Thompson, Innovate UK; David George, MINI; Ian Cameron, UKPN; Caroline Sandall, ESE Consulting; and Keith Kelly, Enterprise Rent-A-Car.

Find out the news from the conference here.